Edwards revels in Ashes triumph

A delighted Charlotte Edwards reflected on one of her “proudest moments in cricket” after England regained the Women’s Ashes with a game to spare.

A five-wicket T20 victory over Australia at the Ageas Bowl, ushered in by Lydia Greenway’s unbeaten 80, gave England an unassailable 10-4 lead in the new multi-format points table ahead of Saturday’s series finale in Durham.

Essex ride on Smith century

Greg Smith’s first LV= County Championship century for Essex guided the visitors into a strong position on the opening day against Gloucestershire at Bristol.

The 30-year-old hit an unbeaten 149 as his side ran up 333 for seven after losing the toss.

Owais Shah contributed 34 and Ben Foakes 32, while Will Gidman and David Payne claimed two wickets apiece for Gloucestershire.

Former Derbyshire batsman Smith was dropped on 19 by Michael Klinger at third slip off Payne and went on to face 274 balls, hitting 17 fours and a six.

Durham make leaders toil

Centuries from Mark Stoneman and Ben Stokes, together with Paul Collingwood’s unbeaten 74, helped Durham pile on the runs on day one of the top-of-the-table LV= County Championship clash with Yorkshire at Scarborough.

Ryan Sidebottom dismissed Keaton Jennings and Scott Borthwick for ducks to leave Durham five for two and went on to claim his 600th first-class wicket.

Yet the visitors were never made to regret batting first upon winning the toss as they motored on to 406 for six in front of a 5,500 crowd.

Statement from England team

The England team would like to issue the following statement:

“The England cricket team would like to state that during our celebrations after winning the Ashes at no time was there any intention to disrespect Surrey CCC, the Oval or anyone else involved in the game we love.

“As a team we pride ourselves on respecting all things cricket including the opposition and the grounds we play at. We got carried away amongst the euphoria of winning such a prestigious series and accept that some of our behaviour was inappropriate.

Morgan to captain England ODI squads against Ireland and Australia

England selectors today named a 14-man squad for the one day international against Ireland taking place at Malahide Cricket Club on Tuesday 3 September and a 14-man squad for the five match NatWest ODI series against Australia commencing Friday 6 September.

Eoin Morgan will captain both squads in the absence of Alastair Cook who is being rested following the recent 3-0 Investec Ashes series victory along with a number of other senior players – James Anderson, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad and Graeme Swann.