Dates and venues announced for 2014 India tour

ECB today announced the itinerary for India’s tour of England next summer, which will encompass five Investec Test Matches, a five match One-Day International series and a solitary NatWest T20 International.

India will play a five-match Test series in this country for the first time since 1959 with Trent Bridge, Lord’s, the Ageas Bowl, Emirates Old Trafford and the Kia Oval all hosting Investec Test Matches.

Leicestershire, Derbyshire and Middlesex will host tour matches against India, who last toured England in 2011 when they were defeated four-nil in the Test Series and three-nil in the NatWest Series with the NatWest International T20 series drawn 1-1.

ECB Chief Executive David Collier said: “This will be the first time England has hosted India in a five-Test series in more than 50 years and the length of the series reflects the iconic status which contests between these two great cricketing nations now enjoy.

“We anticipate significant demand for tickets both for the Investec Test series, and for the One-Day International series which will be the first encounter between these two countries in the 50-over format since India’s triumph in the final of the ICC Champions Trophy competition at Edgbaston earlier this year.

“We thank the BCCI for their support and also our international venues who between them helped bring a record number of spectators – more than 850,000 – to international cricket over the course of the season when India last toured here in 2011.”

India Tour Itinerary

Mon 23 June: India team arrives in UK

Thu 26 – Sat 28 June: Three-day game v Leicestershire, Grace Road

Tue 1 – Thu 3 July: Three-day game v Derbyshire, Derby

Wed 9 – Sun 13 July: First Investec Test Match, Trent Bridge

Thu 17 – Mon 21 July: Second Investec Test Match, Lord’s

Sun 27 – Thu 31 July: Third Investec Test Match, Ageas Bowl**

Thu 7 – Mon 11 Aug: Fourth Investec Test Match, Emirates Old Trafford

Fri 15 – Tues 19 Aug: Fifth Investec Test Match, Kia Oval

Fri 22 Aug: Fiftyover game v Middlesex, Lord’s

Mon 25 Aug: 1st ODI, Bristol

Wed 27 Aug: 2nd ODI, SWALEC Stadium

Sat 30 Aug: 3rd ODI, Trent Bridge

Tue 2 Sept: 4th ODI, Edgbaston

Fri 5 Sept: 5th ODI, Headingley

Sun 7 Sept: NatWest International T20, Edgbaston

Mon 8 Sept: India team departs UK

** Note – venue subject to confirmation following final facility inspection

View the Original article

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top