India select uncapped trio

India have named uncapped trio Sanju Samson, Karn Sharma and Dhawal Kulkarni in their 17-man squad for the limited-overs matches against England.

The tourists will play five Royal London one-day internationals and two NatWest International Twenty20s following the end of the ongoing Investec Test Series, and have introduced some fresh faces into the squad ahead of next year’s World Cup.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Samson provides back-up to captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, while leg-spinner Karn replaces the injured Amit Mishra.

Seamer Kulkarni has been named in an India squad for a second time, with his inclusion in the ODI series against West Indies last year ending on a sour note after he was ruled out due to injury shortly afterwards.

Stuart Binny, whose remarkable figures of 6-4 against Bangladesh in June were the best by an Indian in an ODI, retains his place as do fast bowlers Mohit Sharma and Umesh Yadav.

One notable omission is batsman Cheteshwar Pujara, who is a regular in the Test line-up but has struggled in the shorter format. The 26-year-old averages a fraction over 10 in five ODIs with a top score of 27.

India ODI and T20 squad to face England: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Stuart Binny, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Umesh Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Sanju Samson, Karn Sharma.

Sanju Samson, who has previously played for India A, provides back-up to Mahendra Singh Dhoni for the limited-overs matches with England

View the Original article

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top