Narine among Windies trio back for World Cup

West Indies have recalled Sunil Narine, Darren Bravo and Kemar Roach for their World Cup squad.

The trio strengthen the Islanders in the spin, batting and pace departments respectively but the expected absence of all-rounders Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard means they are still not at full strength.

Dwayne Bravo was captain of the squad that controversially abandoned its tour of India last year and he has since been jettisoned, while Pollard also missed out on selection for the upcoming South Africa one-day series.

Jason Holder continues to skipper the side after his recent promotion, with Marlon Samuels installed as his deputy.

Narine’s return comes after a period of self-imposed rehabilitation on his action.

He had been reported by umpires during the Champions League T20 but, despite being free to participate in International Cricket Council events, opted to take time out to remodel his release.

Sunil Narine, here bowling versus England in February, took time out to work on his action and is set to play at the World Cup

Darren Bravo missed the South Africa Test series for personal reasons but returns to add some pedigree to the middle order, while paceman Roach is fit again following an ankle injury.

Carlos Brathwaite, Narsingh Deonarine and Leon Johnson have all missed out on selection.

National selector Clive Lloyd said: “I believe we have selected a very good team which will do West Indies proud at the World Cup.

“We have a good mixture of some good seasoned players and some good youngsters who will fly the West Indies flag in Australia and New Zealand.

“I have really high hopes in this team – I believe they can do something special. We have the talent and if we can play to our potential we have a very good chance of lifting that trophy.”

The West Indies Cricket Board has also announced a list of 12 retainer contracts, the terms of which caused the India debacle.

In addition to the players who have agreed new deals, offers were made to Chris Gayle and Narine, who declined to sign.

West Indies World Cup squad: Jason Holder (capt), Marlon Samuels (vice-capt), Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cottrell, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Jerome Taylor.

View the Original article

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top