Stevens claims Walter Lawrence Trophy

This year’s Walter Lawrence Trophy, awarded for the fastest hundred of the season, has been won by Kent’s Darren Stevens, who battered a blistering 44-ball century against Sussex in the Yorkshire Bank 40 match at Canterbury on June 19.

The 37-year-old hit 10 fours and six sixes en route to three figures as Kent overhauled a mammoth total of 336 for five with nine balls unused.

A consistent match-winner with bat and ball, Stevens finished with 118 off 53 balls and chipped in with two key wickets.

Only Scott Styris has managed a quicker hundred among the list of trophy winners. Styris struck a 37-ball hundred for Sussex last year.

Stevens will receive a cheque for £3,000 at the Walter Lawrence Trophy presentation dinner in The Long Room at Lord’s on October 15.

Now in its 79th year, the Walter Lawrence Trophy is open to all domestic county competitions as well as one-day internationals, Twenty20 internationals and Test matches in England.

Heather Knight is the recipient of this year’s women’s award, which is won by the batter who makes the highest individual score of the season.

Having led the competition since early May, when she made an unbeaten 153 in the LV= Women’s County Championship, Knight eclipsed that effort with a sensational 157 for England in the Women’s Ashes Test with Australia at Wormsley in August.

In only her second Test, opener Knight rescued her side from a precarious position, facing 338 deliveries and sharing a record seventh-wicket partnership of 156 with the dogged Laura Marsh.

Knight’s score is the seventh-highest score for England Women in Tests. She is the second winner of the Walter Lawrence Women’s Award and wins a silver medallion together with a cheque for £500.

Durham MCCU opener Ivo Hobson wins the MCC Universities award for the highest score in an innings played against one of the other five MCCUs or a first-class county.

Hobson struck 129 from 211 deliveries against Cambridge MCCU in June, during a season that saw him strike 708 runs at an average of 34.

The 22-year-old is the second Durham University player to win the award after Chris Jones in 2011 and the eighth recipient since its inception. He will also receive a silver medallion and £500.

View the Original article

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top