Australia look to future

Australia have named a fresh-faced squad for the upcoming Royal London One-Day Series against England with seven new players from the group that won the World Cup in March.

While big names such as Mitchell Starc, who was the World Cup player of the tournament, David Warner and newly-appointed skipper Steven Smith are included, the 14-man party contains three uncapped players.

Ashton Agar, Joe Burns and Marcus Stoinis are the trio yet to make their 50-over debuts for the five-time world champions.

Agar, the only specialist spinner in the squad, is familiar to English audiences after he hit 98 batting at 11 on his Test debut at Trent Bridge two years ago.

Burns played two Tests against India during the winter and has spent this summer at Middlesex before impressing on Australia A’s ongoing tour of India, cracking 154 from 131 balls against their second-string last Friday.

Stoinis is an all-rounder who takes the place of James Faulkner, who was ruled out of the series by Cricket Australia last month after being found guilty of a drink-driving charge during his spell at Lancashire.

Mitchell Starc lifts the World Cup trophy in front of the Australia fans that packed Federation Square in Melbourne

Paceman Micthell Johnson and Josh Hazlewood have been rested, but Australia’s next generation of quicks – Pat Cummins, James Pattinson and Nathan Coulter-Nile – will appear alongside Starc to ensure a fearsome attack.

Matthew Wade regains the wicketkeeper’s gloves in the shortest format and celebrated his call-up by hitting 130, from 106 balls, against South Africa A in Chennai today.

Australia national selection panel chairman Rod Marsh has backed the new names to shine, with Burns set to join Warner at the top of the innings with Aaron Fnch ruled out with the foot injury he suffered while with Yorkshire.

“He is a very capable young batsman who has experience opening, and we think he will grab his opportunity with the white ball during this series,” said Marsh, who also expects 21-year-old Agar to prove his quality after he recently took 5-29 against India A.

“Ashton has performed very well with the ball since his return from shoulder surgery.

“He has played in these conditions over here before and the NSP believes he has a very bright future.”

Leg-spinner Cameron Boyce has been included only in the squad for the one-off NatWest International T20 at the SSE SWALEC Stadium.

Australia squad: Steven Smith (c), Ashton Agar, George Bailey, Joe Burns, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Shane Watson, David Warner, Cameron Boyce (T20I only).

View the Original article

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top