Graves elected as ECB’s next Chairman

The England and Wales Cricket Board today announced that the 41 members of the ECB had formally approved the constitutional changes proposed by the Board earlier this month; and that Colin Graves has been elected as its next Chairman.

The Yorkshire Chairman and current ECB Deputy Chairman will succeed Giles Clarke who has been ECB Chairman since 2007. The change will take effect following the ECB Annual General Meeting in May.

Mr Graves’ election for a five year term was confirmed today following the completion of an election process conducted by Electoral Reform Services.

His nomination was unopposed and approved by the 41 members of the ECB.

Commenting on his election, Mr Graves said: “It is a great honour and a privilege to be elected as ECB Chairman and I would like to thank the membership of the ECB for offering me their full support. I would also like to express my gratitude to Giles for his outstanding leadership of ECB over the past eight years; a period which has seen unprecedented levels of investment in all areas of the game.

“My immediate priority will be to work closely with our new Chief Executive Officer Tom Harrison, my fellow Board members and the rest of the ECB’s senior leadership team to develop a comprehensive new strategy to grow cricket’s appeal still further across more diverse communities in England and Wales. With an Ashes series this summer and ECB hosting ICC global events in 2017 and 2019, we have a fantastic opportunity to inspire more people to play, attend and follow cricket and build on our position as the country’s number one summer sport.”

Colin Graves has been elected as Chairman of the ECB for a term of five years and will succeed Giles Clarke in the role

View the Original article

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top