Hogan wins top Glamorgan award again

Michael Hogan was named Glamorgan’s player of the year for the second consecutive season at an awards ceremony in Swansea last night.

The Australia-born right-armer, who has a deal until 2016, claimed 98 wickets in all formats and, after just two seasons in Wales, has already broken the 200-wicket barrier.

Hogan has enjoyed a stellar 18 months – he was also a key part of the Western Australia side that reached the Sheffield Shield final – and his 63 LV= County Championship wickets this summer came at 19.55 runs apiece.

Jacques Rudolph was named Glamorgan’s one-day player of the year – after he topped the run-scorer’s list in the Royal London One-Day Cup – while Jim Allenby took out the T20 player-of-the-year award.

Rudolph hit a record-breaking 169 not out against Sussex in the One-Day Cup, beating Viv Richard’s Glamorgan record, and finished just short of 2,000 runs in all formats.

Jim Allenby won Glamorgan's T20 player of the year after he hit the second century ever in the format by a player from the Welsh county

Twenty20 skipper Allenby became just the second Glamorgan player to hit a century in the shortest format – against Middlesex at Richmond.

Allenby also steered Glamorgan to the Blast quarter-finals, where they lost to eventual finalists Lancashire Lightning by a run.

Chris Cooke was named championship player of the year after he topped the batting averages in the four-day game and hit his maiden first-class century against Kent.

Cooke finished the season with 870 runs at 43.50 with his top score that 171 at the Spitfire Ground.

Andrew Salter claimed back-to-back young-player-of-the-year awards after he made 24 appearances for the first team.

View the Original article

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top