Morgan starts MCC presidency

Fomer ECB chairman David Morgan has today begun his year as president of Marylebone Cricket Club, replacing former England captain Mike Gatting.

Morgan, who has also previously been president of the International Cricket Council, was nominated by Gatting at the MCC annual general meeting in May.

The Welshman will be tasked with moving the Lord’s masterplan forward, with the redevelopment of the south western corner of the ground, including the Tavern and Allen stands, already in the design stages.

His brief will also include developing the club’s community strategy and work overseas.

Morgan spent four years as chairman of Glamorgan from 1993 to 1997, succeeding former MCC president Tony Lewis at the county.

Morgan went on to work as Lord MacLaurin’s deputy at the ECB until 2002, when he was elected to take on the chairmanship himself.

After five years with the ECB, Morgan was nominated for presidency of the ICC for a two-year term, being succeeded by Sharad Pawar in 2010.

His most recent contribution to English cricket was the Morgan Review of 2011, which was considered to be the biggest shake-up of the county game in a decade. The report’s recommendations were implemented prior to the start of the 2014 season.

Former ECB chairman David Morgan, pictured, today succeeds Mike Gatting as president of Marylebone Cricket Club (Patrick Eagar)

Morgan said: “I never expected to get the call from Mike, but I was delighted when I did and I’m looking forward to serving this great club and its members.

“It will be fantastic to welcome our friends and members from Australia and New Zealand next summer as well as seeing some of MCC’s charitable work first hand in Sri Lanka.

“I will do my best to bring my experience in to this role and I hope for another successful year at the home of cricket.”

Gatting, during his tenure as president of MCC, has presided over the progression of the Lord’s masterplan, with MCC having gained planning permission for the redevelopment of the Warner Stand, with work scheduled to commence, subject to members’ approval, in September 2015.

He has also overseen the introduction of MCC’s first community development programme, and has represented the club around the country and overseas, including official visits to Australia, Abu Dhabi and Oman.

Four new members have also joined the MCC committee today. They are Simon Hughes, Tony Alt, Giles Toogood and Garri Jones.

Hughes, a former Middlesex bowler, is best known for his work as a journalist and broadcaster with Channel 4, Channel 5 and BBC Sport.

Alt is the deputy chairman of NM Rothschild & Sons Ltd and has been a member of the MCC finance committee since 1999. Toogood is a surgical consultant and associate professor who has been an MCC playing member since 1991. Jones is a trustee of the MCC Foundation who has been heavily involved in the club’s youth and university cricket programmes.

The four outgoing committee members are Russell Cake, Chinmay Gupte, Julian Vallance and Mark Williams.

View the Original article

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top